Red shirt and blue shorts

File:A man and toddler take a leisurely walk on a boardwalk.jpgI am haunted by the image of the little boy lying in the surf. My daughter used to sleep in just that pose. But she was breathing, safe in her bed, in a home that was intact, in a city that was not bombed, in a country not convulsed in violence.

I am haunted by the image of the man picking up the body of that small child. I have carried my sleeping daughter with similar gentleness, but I was able to tuck her safely into bed and sleep my own sleep in peace.

I am haunted by the peaceful lapping of the water against the child’s body. The creation itself should be crying out at such sorrow.

I am haunted by the image of Jesus on the cross wearing a red shirt and blue shorts.

I am haunted by the thought that this is but one child, one in a seemingly endless stream of children perishing.

I am haunted that we have lost so much of our humanity.

I am haunted at the thought that God should be willing to not hold our sins against us in order to restore our lost humanity.

I am haunted that we seem so reluctant to take that journey.

Photo: By Hillebrand Steve, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
About dkbonde

Pastor, Los Altos Lutheran Church
This entry was posted in Our true humanity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red shirt and blue shorts

  1. Pingback: In the arms of the Syrophoenician woman | Watching for the morning

  2. Pingback: At the high table | Watching for the morning

Leave a Reply

