“The Lord is in his holy temple.”

There are thousands of delicious lines in the scriptures.  This is one of them.

“The Lord is in his holy temple.”

When I was nine, my bedroom was at the top of the stairs.  We had a big house, then, and I had my own bedroom for the first time.  It had once been a solarium, I think; the top half of one whole wall was windows facing south, looking over the back yard and the night sky.

I wasn’t nervous about sleeping alone, though I was glad that Kathy and Paul wanted to have the hall light left on.  It would cast a streak of light across my bed bright enough that I could read if I wanted to.  But mostly I liked the light because with it came the sounds of the kitchen where Mom was finishing the dishes, or the murmur of the television in the family room where Mom would be ironing.

It was enough to know that Mom was in the house.

“The Lord is in his holy temple.”

In the night hours when anxieties visit, when wars and rumors of war rumble through the news, when cliffs fiscal or otherwise shadow our path, when children are away from sight and we worry, the Lord is in his holy temple.

God is still God.  Jesus is still risen.  The gates of hell have fallen.  Like that fabulous scene at the end of the Lord of the Rings, the wedding comes.

Christ is puttering in the kitchen.  God is working on bills.  The Holy Spirit is playing on the piano in the living room or sitting by the fire with a cup of tea.  The world that sometimes seems so shaky is built on a foundation of love that shall not perish.  And the light of the Gospel shines across my bed.

 “The Lord is in his holy temple.”
(Psalm 11:4)

About dkbonde

Pastor, Los Altos Lutheran Church
This entry was posted in Psalms, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The Lord is in his holy temple.”

  1. opreach says:

    And you, David, are God’s Holy Temple. Blessings, and thank you for following.

Leave a Reply

